MBA Without Managerial Exp

kenco

Hi There,

I am thinking of doing a distance learning mba and have narrowed down my wish list to 1: Warwick 2: Aston 3: Stratclyde.

I have 9 years post grad experience and recently became a Chartered Accountant.

Trouble is i work for a small company with a flat structure where my boss is also the owner and everyone reports to him.
There are staff who i delegate duties to but really thats as far as my management goes. (Note:I love working there and am well paid.)

Will my experience work against me in the application stage for any schools?
would i get into the above schools in your opinion?

Thanks -KC

Hi There,

I am thinking of doing a distance learning mba and have narrowed down my wish list to 1: Warwick 2: Aston 3: Stratclyde.

I have 9 years post grad experience and recently became a Chartered Accountant.

Trouble is i work for a small company with a flat structure where my boss is also the owner and everyone reports to him.
There are staff who i delegate duties to but really thats as far as my management goes. (Note:I love working there and am well paid.)

Will my experience work against me in the application stage for any schools?
would i get into the above schools in your opinion?

Thanks -KC
Mesix

Have you thought about discussing your MBA goal with the boss/owner? He may be willing to write a good recommendation to help your entrance with a top MBA program. He may also mentor you or provide you with additional responsibilities and opportunities if he knows you are interested.

Have you thought about discussing your MBA goal with the boss/owner? He may be willing to write a good recommendation to help your entrance with a top MBA program. He may also mentor you or provide you with additional responsibilities and opportunities if he knows you are interested.
karunk

Kenco,